NTPRS13 – Wednesday the 24th of July – day 3

IMG_1200Talked this evening too long with Contee and afterwards with my roommate Michelle. Michelle  showed me all kinds of very interesting websites to use, like Sylvia Duckworth’s Youtube channel for French teachers, Frenchified and Symbaloo, for organizing your preferred internet sites.

If you click the links underneath you’ll open the hand-out that goes with the mentioned workshop.

Went today to the workshop of Lynnette and Carmen about the Upper Level strategies.

If I compare they way my lessons are structured and the way Scott and Lynnette & Carmen do it, I have to say that what they do all fits in my “Multiple Intelligences scheme”. When Susan Gross saw it last year, she said “she does not like boxes”, but to me they are a help to have everything I do at a glance which helps me in fact to think OUT OF the box & the circle ;-). I’ll post this scheme later on. I noticed Gary also likes boxes and I like his boxes 😉 See his Advanced structures hand-out.

During lunchtime Stephen Krashen did his keynote talk and it’s always interesting and funny what he has to say.

IMG_1214

IMG_1240

Row_your_boat_ntprs13

Row, row, row your boat

Went to the afternoon part of Michele’s and Laurie’s literacy c.q. embedded readingsworkshop I enjoyed how they had us sing ‘Row. row your boat’ in groups and the group you see right above this words made a gorgeous boat as a form of great group work! Also the part where we learned Russian from Michele with the mice-actors. It’s the story of Susan Gross of the Back to school night ; see “Thursday night”

I was two years ago in Michele’s and Laurie’s embedded reading workshop, and it was good, but in these two years it has even improved to much a higher level! That’s the incredible thing about TPRS; it’s good, but it keeps getting better; also the conferences!

Mama_mouse_children_mice_130724

Mamamouse (left) and children mice (right)

The last sesion of this afternoon for me was Scott’s Culture pop-ups workshop. He had beautiful photo’s in his PowerPoint. Culture always play a very important role in my lessons, because a language can not exist without the cultural background. With my adult students every week we taste some French specialty (or a specialty from a French speaking country), and it can be something we drink, a vegetable, a sweet, cookies, herbs, herbal tea, spices,a special dish etc. etc. I always have a PowerPpout nthat goes woth it with authentic language and that can vary from the opening hours from a musee to the percentages concerning the use of a certain beverage to a poem to a song etc. etc.

Scott_Culture_popups_ntprs13

Culture pop-up, Scott Benedict

