NTPRS14 Chicago – The third day – Wednesday the 23rd of July

Workshop Blaine and Von Ray The power of going deep - NTPRS14Wednesday I first went to the advanced workshop by Blaine & Von Ray: The power of going deep. This year the advanced workshops were from 8.30 -11.30, then a break of two hours and then the workshops continue for two more hours from 1.30-3.30 p.m. Then a short break of a quarter of an hour and then sessions from 3.45-5.15 or open coaching & exhibitors. Then a break of a quarter of an hour and then showcases by masterteachers, like Blaine Ray, Michael Miller, Mira Canion, Laruie Clarcq, Bryce Hedstrom, Karen Rowan and Jason Fritze.

In The power of going deep we had to work in small groups and work out ideas for stories. Blaine stressed again how imporatn it is to try to find out where the students break down through: hesitancy, comprehension, lack of confidence.

Bryan KandelDuring lunchtime = Wholefoods time; we go there with a small group of TPRS-teachers (only female…). It’s nice to have such a long brak in between, to having some time for yourself, to go outside in the sun, to talk to each other.

In the afternoon I went to the sesson by Bryan Kandel “Student-driven Curriculum”. Here you can find his slideshow as pdf. It was in fact all about PQA. His image of a little devil whispering bad things about his deficiencies in his ears and a little saint (Blaine) giving him positive advice was very funny.

Afterwards to Mira Canion’s showcase; it’s amazing how she can Mira Canionthink on her feet and react always so quickly! BTW, very hard to make a picture of her, because she hardly stands still (like a lot of TPRS teachers..)

In the evening were the immersion dinners, but somehow I did miss where the French teachers would meet and when I returned from Mira’s session and dropping my things in my room, everybody had gone. So I decided to walk to Wholefoods, along a busy street with lot’s of cars because it was rush hour. On my way I met one of the Turkey’s military language teachers who was already going back and on my way back when it was already getting dark, Betsy Paskvan was walking behind me – at first I did not recogize her and I thought “Why is this woman walking faster and faster towards me?” . She also happened to have been at Wholefoods and we went back walking & talking and like this time flew and we arrived at the hotel when it had become dark.

My roommate and French teacher Michele Kindt returned very late and I heard from her that the French teachers went to a restaurant in Naperville, where they had been singing all evening and that the aother guests had also been singing, so they had a great French evening. What a pity I missed it all!

 

 

 

 

